Back in the USA

Well I’m back in Savannah and sorry to say I couldn’t  post to my blog because we didn’t have a connection in LaVallée or Jacmel. The mission was a successful one for me and my first Photography Workshop in Ridoré LaVallée de Jacmel, Haiti. I had 9 amazing students who were eager and kept me on my toes. I was not surprised when I let them go on their own to shoot and they came back with stunning images of their villages, families and friends. We also had an exhibit at  the Hotel Auberge in our village and of course we were all nervous – this was our first public exposure. It was so wonderful to watch my students proudly stand by while people viewed their work – it was one of the proudest moments in my life. I will be flying to New Orleans in a couple of weeks to make arrangements for our first exhibit in the US which will be in October at Xavier University. This is a photograph of my students the night of their exhibit. Aren’t they beautiful!

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back in the USA

  1. Jackie says:

    What an awesome project. You are so fortunate to still have the health to do this kind of work. And the tolerance for “heat”.

  2. Diane lyons says:

    Thanks for the invite to check out your blog. The pictures are beautiful, as I have told you often. I look forward to seeing where these young people will take us with their photography. Keep up the GOOD work and see you soon. My mouth is watering!!

  3. Keymia says:

    Ms. LaRance, beautiful work! I am glad that you chose to show the strength of Haiti instead of the repeated pain and sorrow. Thank you for making the connection, buidling a bridge instead of a wall between American culture and Haiti. Very nice!

Leave a Reply

