Life is simple in LaVallée

Life is simple in LaVallée the people there are beautiful, kind and loving, everyone attends church on Sunday but they also work very hard. When I am in our village of Ridoré I imagine that’s what it was like here in this country very long ago before our time – when everyone worked and helped each other build houses, raise children and grow crops. I hope you can see what I see when I’m there in Ridoré, LaVallée de Jacmel, Haiti.

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life is simple in LaVallée

  1. Jackie says:

    Hi Jeanne,

    I love your photography and you are darn good at it. I tried it for a while until someone decided they needed my camera worse than I did. So sadly, no more pics.

    Thank you for share these awesome pics.

  2. vanja says:

    Jeanne

    you’re born to be a documentary photographer, or filmmaker. I’m so proud of you.
    Vanja

Leave a Reply

