Dispensaire Hospital St. Joseph, LaVallée

I’ve had some requests by people asking to see images of the Doctors and Nurses and other professionals at work in the Hospital and clinic. I am happy to share what I see of them at work. They come from all over the country to join in this medical mission to LaVallée with AHDH, which always turns out to be something they didn’t expect. I watch these doctors and nurses in simple amazement as they go through days and nights of unexpected emergencies – life threatening surgeries and new babies being born. Giving up nights of rest to stay at the hospital close to their patients. Doing emergency surgery late at night. No one complains because their shower that night is cold or that there might not be any water for a shower. That there is no electricity because the generator ran out of gas. It seems that as the days pass and everyone finds their place they take on more work – it’s as if they have been given extra energy to do all of the tasks at hand including mopping floors, cleaning the storage room and anything else that needs to be done. These amazing people are my Heroes.

Prayer before surgery

Dr.'s René and Belizaire

Sandra René and nurse assistant preparing for delivery

Nurse preparing patient for hernia surgery

Dr.'s Belizaire, father and daughter with nurse Diane assisting

Women in OR

making the patient comfortable

People waiting to see the Doctor most have walked many miles to get to us

Sometimes babies come two at a time

Nurse Madeline installs an electrical switch in the eye clinic

Med. student watches as the Dentist extracts a tooth

Sandra René comforts and stills a patient before an epidural

Ultrasound is now available for the Doc's thanks to Michael and his students

The Eye Clinic is full everyday and surgery is now available

Eye surgeon Anika

I will be posting the video of this mission in a few weeks. Keep checking back or subscribe to the Blog at the bottom of this page.

Thanks for viewing my blog.

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dispensaire Hospital St. Joseph, LaVallée

  1. Carol Rose Brown says:

    Dear Jeane,

    It is wonderful to see your pictures and read your blog. You and the doctors are doing such needed and great work.

    Your old camera is still serving me well.

    Much love, Carol

Leave a Reply

