Ridoré

This morning I was rudely awakened by the sound of a horn honking and sounds of an engine revving up as from a large truck with an engine problem. I lay there waiting for the quiet to return – my thoughts went to Ridoré and what it’s like waking up there to the sounds of roosters crowing and donkey’s braying – it’s a very gentle way to wake at the crack of dawn and meet a new day. Many mornings I was up before dawn and out with my cameras waiting for the magic of sunrise – most of the time not shooting but just enjoying the quiet and the feeling of innocence that I so love about the village of Ridoré. I have to say that I have been selfishly disappointed at the “progress” in the village, things such as paved streets where the donkeys used to park on market day ­– now there are more dirt bikes than donkeys on the roads. I have seen other Haitian people arrive at the Hotel Auberge du Mont Saint Jean for the first time because they heard about it and they can’t believe that LaVallée is so beautiful – they call it paradise.

There are some things that I hope don’t change and one of them is Sunday when everyone attends church dressed in their finest clothes looking as though they just had them cleaned and pressed. I always wondered how people in a village with no running water or electricity could keep their clothes looking so nice. Another thing I hope doesn’t change is the important roll fathers play with their children – they take them to church as well as to the hospital for their check ups – they walk them to school and you see the pride in their faces. I hope that never changes. We were there on Father’s Day when they honored all of the fathers with a special mass on Sunday; it was very beautiful.

Please leave a comment.

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ridoré

  1. Diane lyons says:

    Jeane,
    I think you expressed what so many of us old timers feel. Why does progress have to mean loss of innocence? Why does progress bring stress and worry over things that are not important? I see the Ridore that we once knew slipping away slowly. I’m glad I knew them when… I also pray though that some things never change.

Leave a Reply

