“Popsicle Kids”

We walked through the crowded streets and market area in the center of Jacmel heading for the town square. I saw people going about their daily business acting as if the streets have always been filled with rubble from crumbled buildings caused by an earthquake. I had a feeling that I shouldn’t be there – observing, like most people do after something horrific has happened – so I justified that by shopping and buying a few things that I didn’t need – I felt better.

We found the square, all towns have one but this one is now home to many Haitian families. The cleaning crew who just happened to be all women was busy cleaning around the tents in the area. It felt hotter than usual that day and everyone was looking for shade. I saw a group of boys sitting in the shade of a huge tree and headed in that direction – thinking to myself how lost they looked. I can only imagine the feeling of being scared and having no place to go after everything in your life is gone.

I was suddenly surrounded by a group of little girls who seemed to come out of nowhere and immediately they began striking poses for my camera. We ran around entertaining each other for a few minutes and voila a lady appeared selling Popsicles! We all ended up on top that day. The kids all got a Popsicle. I got a couple of great shots. The popsicle lady made out like a bandit – selling out completely. One of the cleaning women got a popsicle and everyone was happy – Thus the name “Popsicle kids”.  It was a good day!

The little boy with no pants got left out – he didn't get a popsicle.


About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Popsicle Kids”

  1. Pamela says:

    I love these photos and the story, sounds like a lovely day. I wish I could sent the little boy a popsicle.

  2. jeff says:

    Truely honest and inspiring photographs. It is refreshing to see the hope and resilience in the people after such a catastrophe. I can appreciate that these photographs portray ‘the solution’ and don’t just focus on the drama of the tragedy. Beyond that what exquisite colors and the poeple themselves have such a spark of life in their eyes. Thanks for sharing these with me Jeane.

  3. Tara says:

    Ms Jeane, Thanks so much for sharing all of these wonderful photos of smiles and life. I truly appreciate the photo of you with the three little girls. Much love and respect from your BOA teller =)

Leave a Reply

