Photography of The 51st. AHDH Medical Mission in LaValleé de Jacmel, Haiti

To the Doctors, Nurses and Volunteers, Merci Beaucoup!

The 51st. AHDH Mission is coming to an end and as usual it’s a day of mixed feelings. Sometimes I’m not sure how I feel when that day comes to leave but one thing I know for sure — it’s easier to leave this time. At the end of the November Mission we had to leave knowing there would not be a Doctor in charge at the Hospital. In December right after Christmas, Dr. Rene returned to LaVallée and hired permanent staff at the Hospital St. Joseph, Dr. Walkens Desir, and now no patient will be left unattended — we are all more comfortable leaving this time.

This Mission was a very busy and successful event. The Dentists had 175 cases — the Optometrist checked 300+ people and the surgeons removed 6 Cataracts as well as a few minor surgeries and the Ultrasonographer did 50+ exams. The surgeons performed the first Thyroidectomy and several minor surgeries with ease. Like always, I am amazed at the energy and steadfast commitment these Doc’s express, watching them always makes me feel like I’m not doing enough. But at night when I empty my cards to the hard drive and cruze through the images to make sure I’ve got what we need for that day, I laugh at how much I really get to be a part of all the medical services that take place in our Hospital. Like I always say these amazing people are my Heroes!

please feel free to capture the images you like and share my blog address with your friends and colleagues. See you in June.

The following images are in no particular order.

The Out Door Eye Clinic

Setting up the Out Door Eye Clinic

The Eye Clinic

Ultrasound

Pre-Op

Pre-Op

Engineer George thinking over the situation

Testing the Eye Exam Equipment

People Waiting at the Hospital

The Belizaires in surgery. Mother, daughter and father

Dr. René and mid-wife Mary Alice with a patient

The Quarentine Tents donated by Doctors Without Borders

Mid-wife Mary Alice and Jeannette Jean-Pierre with a patient

Setting up glasses at the Out Door Eye Clinic

Zishan the Dentist with a patient

Pre-Op

The Phlebotomist at work

Mending scrapes from a bike accident

Setting up Post-Op

Looking over the chart

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Photography of The 51st. AHDH Medical Mission in LaValleé de Jacmel, Haiti

  1. nicole lerouge says:

    I would love to do this again specially with you. Thanks

  2. Tanja says:

    Very good article. I definitely appreciate this website.
    Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

