The 52nd Medical mission has come to an end, and both teams have gone back home. Being part of this medical mission is such an amazing experience that sometimes when it comes to writing for the blog I’m at a loss for words. Each mission is unique; nothing happens the same way twice.

I found myself very emotional at times around the Hospital St. Joseph. The first week Dr. Cliff Youngblood and Dr. René delivered a healthy baby girl by cesarean. The second week Dr. René delivered a beautiful healthy baby boy by cesarean, assisted by Dr. Susan Jeanfreau. I was in tears at the beauty of the life-saving events — watching the new life catch his first breath and trying to open his eyes for the very first time. If the doctors had not been there both mothers and babies would have died. Before Dr. René started the medical missions to our village, in 1986, the death rate during birth was extremely high. Now, after many years, the hospital is equipped to do this life-saving surgery.

If I live to be 100 years old there will never be anything that will compare to my working with this team of doctors and nurses at the Hospital St. Joseph’s in Ridoré.

As their photographer I am everywhere, the fly on the wall as they say, and I still feel as though I don’t cover enough of their work. Not only do I get to see life begin, I get to watch as people have their eye-sight restored — tumors removed — people of all ages given a new healthy start — if I didn’t believe in miracles before, I do now.

This was the first mission for both Drs. Youngblood and Jeanfreau, and it was great watching them doing what they do best.

Another first timer was Steve Sotile a Radiologist from Baton Rouge, La. He worked with Mike Beauford on ultrasound. Steve is the first Radiologist to join AHDH.

Doctors, Nurses and volunteers, you may capture all the images you want but please

    credit me for the photography.

The following images are in no particular order.

 

Groups 1 & 2 at the Cap

 

Day 1

 

checking the power

 

people wait long hours

 

Dentist at work

 

Pediatrician Dr. Youngblood

 

Dr. Youngblood, OB/GYN checks the equipment

 

Nurse Yanique examines a patient

 

Mike introduces Steve to his Ultrasound machine

 

Mike and Steve with a patient

 

Mike shows concern with his patient

 

Dr. Michaels with med students

a new pair of shades

 

Dr. René and Steve Sotile checking the X-Rays

 

Steve Sotile check the X-Ray again

 

Dr. Andre Amy takes care of a mans leg after being bitten by a dog

 

Drs. René and Sotile

 

Dr. Belizaire, the woman who does evrything!

 

Dr. René and Dr. Jeanfreau preparing their patient for a c-section birth

 

Dr. Jeanfreau comforts the patient before surgery

 

Dr. Jeanfreau steadies the patient for Dr. Adrien-Lafotant to administer the epidural

 

Dr. Marie Lydie Adrien-Lafontant Anesthesiologist

 

It's a boy

 

Baby boy

 

Dr. Nicole does charting outdoors in the fresh air with her patients

 

Dr. Desir and Nurse Yanny watch as Mike Beauford helps Dr. Belizaire examine a patient with Ultrasound

 

 


About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Amelia Belizaire says:

    Jean,
    As usual the photos are beautiful. While I may take credit for doing anything I can for AHDH and our missions, I must admit, I am the only member of my immediate family who is not a doctor of some kind!! Keep up the beautiful work!! I look forward to future installments.

  2. Staci netterville says:

    I love what you guys are doing for these people. Mr mike beauford is one of my ultrasound instructors as we speak. Once i finish school in dec 2011 (4 short months away) & get a job & get stable i want to join you guys for about a week when yall go in june 2012!!! I have always wanted to be part of a medical mission team!! I cant wait for the life touching event! : )

Leave a Reply

