Haitian Wedding

Last fall a friend in Haiti asked me to photograph his wedding in February, of course I said yes. I had no idea what to expect but I knew I was going to be a part of something very special. For the next few months I thought about the wedding, wondering what it was going to be like. I arrived in Ridoré the day before the wedding with my cameras ready. I’m not really sure what I expected but I didn’t expect to see the Bride and Groom dressed in formal wear, with bride’s maids, a ring bearer and flower girls but they were all there and it was beautiful. The groom and both families probably saved for a very long time for this day. The service was long with a lot of singing and dancing and honoring the couple with prayers for a long healthy, happy life together. Then we were off to the reception at the home of the groom’s parents, in an area called Boursiquot. I could say we walked but it was more of a hike, a very long hike. Along the way we passed a group of women doing their laundry at the water source and everyone stopped what they were doing to watched the young couple pass — it was a special time. The trail was rocky and narrow but everyone walked together talking and laughing, even the ladies in their high-heeled shoes; everyone was dressed in their best for this special occasion. I was the only one who seemed to notice how far it.

Flower girls ready to cast petals before the Bride

Flower girls dance in casting petals for the Bride to step on

Ring bearer and the Bride

The Bride Marie Carmel

Walking down the isle

Jeannot and Marie Carmel

Marie Carmel and Michael Beauford the best man

Jeannot

Jeannot and Marie Carmel

Marie Carmel promising her love

The Promise

Honoring the newly weds

Honoring the newly weds

Honoring the newly weds

Happy Bride

The Reception Walk

The Reception Walk

The Brides Maids

The Reception Walk

The Bride and Groom

The Reception Walk

The Reception Walk

The Reception Walk

The Reception Walk

The Reception Walk

The Family



About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Documentary Photography, Photography in Haiti. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Haitian Wedding

  1. Thanks to my father who stated to me on the topic of this
    website, this website is genuinely remarkable.

Leave a Reply

