Photographs by the Young Photographers in LaVallée de Jacmel

I haven’t posted anything new since January, so I will begin with my students past work. When I first started teaching up in the mountains of Haiti the images students brought to class touched my heart so deeply that I laughed a lot just to keep from crying. And like any other photographers they find their niche, some like making portraits, some like group shots, some like events and social gatherings and there are a few who just want to make self portraits. One of the first lessons I explained to them was to shoot from the heart, and that’s what they do.

Girl in White  summer 2010

Girl in White
summer 2010

Girl in a Green Dress summer 2010

Girl in a Green Dress
summer 2010

Girl in the Doorway summer 2010

Girl in the Doorway
summer 2010

Little Girl in a White Dress summer 2010

Little Girl in a White Dress
summer 2010

Brother and Sister fall 2010

Brother and Sister
fall 2010

Two Little Girls  summer 2010

Two Little Girls
summer 2010

Girl with a hat summer 2010

Girl with a hat
summer 2010

Self-Portrait fall 2010

Self-Portrait
fall 2010

Brother fall 2010

Brother
fall 2010

Cat in a Hat summer 2010

Cat in a Hat
summer 2010

Catholic School fall 2010

Catholic School
fall 2010

Tree Climber fall 2010

Tree Climber
fall 2010

After the Quakes summer 2010

After the Quakes
summer 2010

Flower fall 2010

Flower
fall 2010

Sorting Coffee Beans summer 2010

Sorting Coffee Beans
summer 2010

House summer 2010

House
summer 2010

Grandmother summer 2010

Grandmother
summer 2010

Still Life summer 2010

Still Life
summer 2010

Orange Flower at Night summer 2010

Orange Flower at Night
summer 2010

Boy with a Stick summer 2010

Boy with a Stick
summer 2010

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Documentary Photography, Photography in Haiti, THE HAITI PROJECT, the young photographers of LaVallée and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Photographs by the Young Photographers in LaVallée de Jacmel

  1. Ellen Levett says:

    Wow! These are wonderful. All from the heart.

  2. Jack Piers says:

    Like every society everywhere, when I look at the young of that society I know whether there is hope for it. Thanks for giving me hope for Haiti. Her young people are so promising. Keep up the good work you do!
    Jack Piers

Leave a Reply

