Photographs, AHDH, Inc. Medical Mission

It is always easier for me to write for my blog while I’m still in Haiti picking the cabrit from my teeth and reaching for just one more piece of breadfruit. But now I’m back in Key West and all I want to do is go to the beach. But I am committed to my work in Haiti, committed to the Haitian people and to the doctors and nurses I work with, I can’t imagine not doing it. Funny how it becomes clear again when I remind myself of my commitment.

We flew into Port au Prince Friday morning, 22 June, from Miami in time to meet our charter planes to Jacmel. We take as much luggage as the airlines will allow—there is no other way to get the supplies we need to the Hospital St. Joseph. We arrived in Ridoré at the Hotel AuBerge du Mont St Jean in time for a little relaxing and then dinner.

Haitian doctors and nurses joined us from different parts of Haiti ready to do whatever it takes—there is no complaining everyone knows what they’ll be doing. Saturday is a busy day for all and it can be confusing to the “newbies” because to them there is no order in how things are done, but they quickly adjust and everything works out just the way it is supposed to. The doctors and their teams begin cleaning and organizing their areas making sure they can accommodate all of the people they will be caring for on Monday morning and the rest is in Gods hands.

Doctors, Nurses, and volunteers you may capture images from this mission trip just credit me as the photographer if you use them in a presentation or publications.

The welcome sign from Codéva

A welcome sign from Codéva!

Doctors and Nurses arrive to begin unpacking and getting ready

Doctors and Nurses and volunteers arrive to begin unpacking the suitcases and getting ready for Monday morning.

volunteers

Volunteers

volunteer students

Volunteer students in the storage room

Operating Room

Operating Room

sometimes you have to take a minute to figure out where to begin.

Sometimes you have to take a minute to figure out where to begin.

The new people get a tour led by Michael Beauford.

The new people get a tour led by Michael Beauford.

This is eye surgery where eye-sight will be restored for many people.

This is where eye-sight will be restored for many people.

Ultrasonographer sweeps the area he will set up his equipment for ultrasound.

Ultrasonographer sweeps the area where he will set up his equipment for ultrasound.

This office space will be perfect for the eye clinic.

This office space will be perfect for the eye clinic.

donated eye glasses for the eye clinic.

Bins of donated eye glasses for the eye clinic.

The eye clinic is a busy place and they have to be ready.

The eye clinic is a busy place and they have to be ready.

The dental hygienist prepares the area which she will share with two dentists.

The Periodontist prepares the small area which she will share with two dentists.

Student begins to unpack the suitcases.

A student begins to unpack the suitcases.

Pharmacist and her students stock the shelves with medical supplies.

Pharmacist and her students stock the shelves with medical supplies.

 these student pharmacists will be ready.


These student pharmacists will be ready.

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Documentary Photography, LaVallée, Medical Photography, Photography in Haiti, the young photographers of LaVallée. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Photographs, AHDH, Inc. Medical Mission

  1. nic lerouge says:

    I’m so happy that you made it home safely. Nice pics. I can’t wait to see the rest. Take care keep me posted. Enjoy the beach.

Leave a Reply

