Surgery at the Hospital St. Joseph, Ridoré, LaVallée de Jacmel, Haiti

Every person who becomes a part of the medical team has a major part in the order of how it all works, and after all this time I continue to be fascinated by it all. There are still many pieces missing like an x-ray machine but we do have ultrasound, and there isn’t much that Michael Beauford can’t or won’t get a view on with his machine. I think back to when it was only a dream to have an ultrasound machine—and it all started with a dream. I remember when all Dr. René talked about was doing his first cesarean at the Hospital St. Joseph. Now, after many years cesareans are performed on every mission. I’ve watched Anika Michael develop into an amazing eye surgeon with her own operating room! and all of this in a country with no running water or electricity. I know it sounds like we have everything we need and we all wish that was true but…

 

Ultrasound team Nick Pechon and Michael Beauford

Ultrasound team Nick Pechon and Michael Beauford

 

Ultrasound

Mike teaches Nick a few new things in Ultrasound

 

Nothing much takes place in surgery without Anesthesiologist Arshi Michael and student

Nothing much takes place in surgery without Anesthesiologist Arshi Michael assisted by med student

 

Epidural

Epidural

 

Prepping for cesarean

Prep for surgery

They all work together

They work together

 

Arshi adjusts lights for the surgery

Arshi adjusts lights for surgery

 

Dr. Victor and med student

Dr. Victor and med student

 

Dr. Victor

Dr. Victor is ready

 

Hernia repair

Hernia repair

 

Another surgery is being prepped before the Doc is finished with this one

Another surgery is being prepped on the next table

 

Student nurse makes sure the patient is warm

Student nurse makes sure the patient is warm

 

Dr. Blaise preparing for cesarean

Dr. Blaise preparing for cesarean

 

Dr. Blaise

Dr. Blaise

 

Nurse Diane with the healthy new baby

Nurse Diane with the healthy new baby

 

It's a girl

It’s a girl

 

Anika Michael and assitant

Anika Michael and assistant getting ready for surgery

 

Dr. Monsanto and med student watch as Anika begins

Dr. Monsanto and med student watch as Anika begins

 

David Mostafavi and Lorri Heraly

David Mostafavi and Lorri Heraly

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Documentary Photography, Jeane LaRance, LaVallée, Medical Photography, Photography in Haiti, THE HAITI PROJECT and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

