AHDH, Inc. 57th Medical Mission Summer 2013 Hospital St. Joseph , Ridoré, LaVallée de Jacmel, Haiti

Our weekend in Jacmel at the Hotel Cap LaMandou is always a great time with lots of good food, good music, good friends and laughs. This is the time we change teams, one leaves and another crew joins in for the second half of the mission. Team 1 was the most photogenic I’ve ever worked with. In the group shot every eye is on my camera and rarely do I get that much cooperation from a large group. I’ve worked behind the scenes on movie sets and never did I get all eyes on my camera at the same time on the first take. You guys made my work so easy, Merci Beaucoup!

You may capture the images you want from this mission.

I love this image, everyone looks happy, mission complete.

I love this image! everyone looks so happy,  mission complete.

The bartenders at the Cap LaMandou

Bartenders at the Cap LaMandou Hotel

Dr. René gives his thank you speech to the departing team

Dr. René gives his thank you speech to the team that will depart in the morning

Three AHDH Veterans

Three AHDH Veterans

Doctor, Dentists and students

Doctor, Dentists and students

Dr. Nicole Michael and Dr. Charles René

Dr. Nicole Michael and Dr. Charles René

Three Haitian Doctors join us on most of the missions, we are grateful to have them!

Three Haitian Doctors join us on most of the missions and we are grateful to have them!

Dr. Yvonne Major and Sharon Green

Dr. Yvonne Major and Sharon Green

The Eye team, over 300 pairs of eyes were checked but I'm sorry I don't know how many went to surgery

Dr. René with the Eye teams. David and Anika, surgeons and Yvonne and two of her assistants

Dr. Victor and friend

Dr. Victor and friend

Ultrasound team with Dr. René

Ultrasound team, Mike and Nick with Dr. René

Doctors, Nurses, and students

Doctors, Nurses, and students

Celeste and Dr. René

Celeste and Dr. René

 Students


Students

 Political Science Majors


Political Science Majors

Students

Students

17

You can order your omelet anyway you want it and watch her cook it

At breakfast you can order an omelet anyway you want it

This team will travel in buses to Port au Prince with all the luggage

The teams will travel in buses to Port au Prince with all the luggage. First time for everything.

The luggage has to be separated and Dr. Nicole knows just what she's doing

The luggage has to be separated and Dr. Nicole knows just what she’s doing

Mike with his new carry-on

Mike with his new carry-on

First bus is loaded and ready to leave

First bus is loaded and ready to leave

Two nurses

Ready to board the bus

This is the first time they've had to use buses, only because MAF Charter doesn't fly on Sunday

This is the first time they’ve had to use buses,  MAF Charters don’t fly on Sunday

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Documentary Photography, Jeane LaRance, LaVallée, Medical Photography, Photography in Haiti, THE HAITI PROJECT, the young photographers of LaVallée and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

