Far-Flung Villages in Haiti

Last month I was asked to document a water source in an area in LaVallée that I had never heard of before—I jumped at the chance. Over time I have photographed just about everything but this would be my first venture out into those far-flung villages that outsiders rarely get to visit. When I first began photographing in Haiti I let it be known that I would document whatever they needed.

We drove as far as we could and then hiked to the source. It was a man-made lake but I was more interested in the area around the lake, it was thriving. Then we were invited to another water source. We walked on a narrow path through a jungle to a clearing where there was fresh running water, not a lot but enough. Everything looked different, the people the animals and everything else that thrives on water.

When it was time to leave they insisted we quench our thirst with fresh coconut milk. A young man climbed the tree for coconuts and another man used his machete to open them.

What an adventure! I can’t wait to go back there.

All images are copyright: 2013 J. La Rance

A Farm in LaVallée

A Farm in LaVallée

The Water Source

The Water Source

Woman on the Levee

This levee helps to hold back the water during rainy season when it rises to the edge. They built an overflow to direct the water when it floods and I hope it works for them.

The Farm

The Farm

Man with a donkey at the lake

Cement walls were built to prevent the lake from flooding the crops.

The run-off area

The run-off area

Our guide through the jungle area

Our guide through the jungle area insisted we drink coconut milk before hiking back to the trucks.

Through this jungle

Through this jungle is an area I only dreamed of.

path through the jungle

We followed the path through banana trees and other exotic plants and trees, past houses where people greeted us. It was awesome!

The garden

The crops are well protected and two little girls water the large field with buckets.

They protect the new growth with palm leaves

They protect the new growth with palm leaves. It must take hours to water the crops, but they didn’t seem to mind at all.

This is a good thing to see in Haiti

The farmer brings his animal to water before sundown.

Long shadows

As the sun cast a long shadows on the two little girls I had to have just one more image of them before leaving.

woman walking

woman walking on the hill

Young man climbs with ease

This young man climbs with ease to get coconuts for us.

Man uses his machette

This man uses his machete to open the coconuts and perfect every time.

He opens them perfectly, it was delicious!

It was delicious!

Francois a good friend

Francois

the end of a beautiful day

The end of a beautiful day.

All images are copyright: 2013 J. La Rance

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Documentary Photography, Far-flung villages, Far-Flung Villages in Haiti, Jeane LaRance, LaVallée, Photography in Haiti and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

