PORT AU PRINCE, HAITI

In July before coming back to the States I had the opportunity to spend a few days in Port au Prince with friends. Driving from the airport through the city to Pétionville the first thing I noticed was a garbage truck and people busy sweeping and picking up trash—the truck stood out to me because I’d never seen a garbage truck in Haiti before—the streets were not lined with garbage and it didn’t seem to be as chaotic as it was. I have always had hope for Haiti and now I see progress as well.

I was so surprised to see this truck that I didn't even notice the glare on the windshield.. the driver did accommodate me by clearing off the dashboard.

I was so surprised to see this truck that I didn’t even notice the glare on the windshield, but the driver did accommodate me by clearing off the dashboard.

There is still a lot going its a very large city on but its not chaotic.

There is still a lot going on in this very large city, but its not chaotic.

shooting stills from a moving car is not easy, I was focusing on the shoe man in the middle.

There are vendors on every corner.

Even though the streets are very busy there are no horns blowing and drivers cursing each other.

Even though the streets are very busy there are no horns blowing and drivers cursing each other.

The lady with a can on her head and two chickens on her arm.

The lady with a can on her head and two chickens on her arm.

A truck loaded with charcoal.

A truck loaded with charcoal.

On a hillside in Port au Prince.

On a hillside in Port au Prince.

Scalfolding

Scaffolding

Jesus Boutiue

The Jesus Boutique.

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Documentary Photography, Far-flung villages, Far-Flung Villages in Haiti, Jeane LaRance, LaVallée, Medical Photography, Photography in Haiti, THE HAITI PROJECT. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to PORT AU PRINCE, HAITI

  1. Niclerouge@gmail.com says:

    Hello

    Thanks nice. I posted on my Facebook page. I mentioned it when I came back but I had no pictures to prove it. How are you?

    All is well here. Working. Take care.,

Leave a Reply

