I haven’t posted anything in a few months and I apologize if you have been checking my blog only to see the same images again and again. I’ll be using images from my archives and there might some that no one has seen yet.

Over the years that I’ve been traveling to Haiti with AHDH I documented everything possible and I have watched many changes take place. I will never forget my first time in LaVallée it was magical—like I had just stepped into another lifetime. We flew into Jacmel on a small charter plane and that’s when it started. The airport was one room and the seating area was outside, it was beautiful! There was no fence to keep the people and animals off the runway but as far as I know there were never any accidents. I’m starting with these images so you will see the changes as I post more images.

This first set of the images is from my first few trips. I hope you enjoy them.

The  charter company we flew with for years doesn't fly any more.

The charter company we flew with for years doesn’t fly any more.

 

This was the airport then and I loved it!

The airport in Jacmel. I loved it!

 

We use to have to drive across the river in a shallow spot.

We drove across the river in a shallow spot.

 

This was the road into the main part of town.

The Parking Lot,  the road into the main part of town.

 

On market day

On market day beautiful baskets line the street.

 

Traveling up and down this road was difficult no matter if you walked, rode a donkey or in a truck.

Traveling up and down this road was difficult no matter if you walked, rode a donkey or rode in a truck.

 

St. Jean Baptiste Catholic Church.

St. Jean Baptiste Catholic Church.

 

Offerings on St. Jean Baptiste celebration

Offerings on St. Jean Baptiste Day. This was the most beautiful event of all! The people offered everything they had, fruit, bread, and animals and flowers.

 

St. Jean Baptiste Day is a week long event with lots of music and dancing

St. Jean Baptiste Day is a week long event with lots of music and dancing and food.

 

Michael Beauford danced and celebrated too!

Michael Beauford danced and celebrated too!

 

It was very dark the only light was my flash which blinded us all of a minute but we had fun

It was very dark the only light was my flash which blinded us all for a minute but no seemed to mind we all had fun.

 

This was my first first Haitian Party

This was my first first Haitian Party but not my last.

 

The music was good

The music was great and we could hear it long after we all turned in.

 

 

This street is now paved as well as all of the other streets.

This street is now paved and does not look like this at all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Documentary Photography, Far-flung villages, Far-Flung Villages in Haiti, Jeane LaRance, LaVallée, Medical Photography, Photography in Haiti, THE HAITI PROJECT, the young photographers of LaVallée. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

