Portraits of Beautiful People in LaVallée, Haiti

 

01

I have so many beautiful portraits of people I’ve met in Haiti. I think of my first trip and of Dr. René warning me about the people stealing my heart and how right he was. On my first trip I wanted to give something to the people I would be meeting for the first time so I took a small portable printer and tons of ink and paper and made portraits of anyone who wanted a photograph until I ran out of paper. The images you’ll see were all selected at random and from different times and places in LaVallée and Jacmel. I’m happy to show you how they presented themselves to me.

 

Man with the pink scarf

Man with the pink scarf

 

One of the Ladies making our dinner

One of the Ladies making Pikliz (pick-lees) for our dinner.

 

This family has been taking care of the doctors, nurses and volunteers for a very long time and they do an excellent job!

This family has been taking care of the doctors, nurses and volunteers for a very long time and they do an excellent job—Merci Beaucoup!

 

This little one will put a smile on your face.

This little one will put a smile on your face.

 

Michael Beauford and a group of youngsters looking at the pics on his camera

Michael Beauford and a group of youngsters looking at the pics on his camera.

 

Joe And Louise Lature a couple of the nicest people I know.

Joe And Louise Lauture a couple of the nicest people I know.

 

Joe with the Mayor his beautiful family.

Joe Lauture with the Mayor and his beautiful family.

 

In front of the catholic school

In front of the catholic school

 

Lady from Bainet

Lady from Bainet

 

Boy in a blue checkered shirt

Boy in a checkered shirt.

 

Toasting the newly weds at the Cap LaMondeau in Jacmel

Toasting the newly weds at the Cap LaMandou Hotel in Jacmel.

 

We met this young lady poolside at the Cap LaMondeau

We met this young lady poolside at the Cap LaMandou Hotel.

 

Claude is a friend and is always available to help in anyway he can.

Claude is a friend and always there to help in anyway he can.

 

this little boy looks as though he's filled with wisdom.

This little guy looks like he might run the country one day!

 

Professor Artur was one of the three elders in the community, he lived well into his 90's.

Professor Artur was one of the three elders in the community, he lived well into his 90’s. He was a great man  and I’m honored to have met him.

 

woman wearing a big hat

Woman wearing a big hat.

 

Guy and Kathleen are great people and always there for us.

Guy and Kathleen are great people and are always there to help. Kathleen makes delicious passion fruit drinks when we visit. Love to you both.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Documentary Photography, Far-flung villages, Far-Flung Villages in Haiti, Jeane LaRance, LaVallée, Medical Photography, Photography in Haiti, Portraits, THE HAITI PROJECT, the young photographers of LaVallée. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

