A Story of Life and Culture in LaVallée

I’m sorry to say once again that I will not be traveling to Haiti in June with the doctors—I have too much work to do but hopefully I will go on the November mission.

Most recently I received a grant for my work in Haiti to publish a book of images by my documentary photography students in Haiti, the young photographers of LaVallée, and myself. I’m very excited about this project because I know it will be an exquisite jewel of a book bringing joy to all who see it. Editing for a book is very time consuming and of course I would like to have tons of images in it but that’s not how it works. I have one year to finish editing, picking and choosing images to be published. I would like to have it ready for Christmas but I can’t say for sure that I will. The title of the book will be, A Story of Life and Culture in LaVallée de Jacmel, Haiti. I will keep you all up to date as the book progresses by occasionally adding images made by the young photographers and myself.

Once again, I want to thank the people in LaVallée for letting me be a part of their lives—it has been a great honor for me. Mesi beaucoup!

The following image were all made by the young photographers of LaVallée.

0LaRance_LaRance_03 copyLaRance_03Untitled-1

About Jeane La Rance

My brother gave me my first camera when I was nine or ten years of age, he bought it in Europe. I don't remember much about the camera itself it was the pictures I couldn't get enough of, and that still holds true. My life is all about photography. In the beginning it was black and white film. I loved being in the darkroom nothing could compare to it and even though I swore I'd never go digital, I rarely shoot film anymore. I went to the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, NM for my Bachelors Degree. There I studied Documentary Photography, Cinematography and Post Production Editing. Later I attended Savannah College of Art and Design for a Masters Degree in the same fields of study, Photography and Moving Images.
This entry was posted in Documentary Photography, Far-flung villages, Far-Flung Villages in Haiti, Jeane LaRance, LaVallée, Life and Culture, Medical Photography, Photography in Haiti, Portraits, the young photographers of LaVallée and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Story of Life and Culture in LaVallée

  1. lpoisson says:

    Wow.   Sign me up for a book!!! I always think of you in June.   I just found French Nursing books from the student Nurse Practitioner who is working with us today. Love the synchronicity of life. Come to Canada when you can! Lucille 

    Sent from my Samsung device over Bell’s LTE network.

  2. Diane Lyons says:

    Excited for you, you know I want a copy

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

